Gibson Brands Forums

How can a total beginner choose a guitar?

skilsaw

I've bought 4 new guitars in the last year. An acoustic and an electric each, for my son and I.

Unfortunately I'm not skilled enough to play the guitars before hand and know if they are good value at their price. Much of my poor tone is related to poor technique. But I'm working on it.

So how should a rookie choose a guitar?

I've got the GAS for a Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster but would like to get past, Nice color, no scratches and dents, comes with a case. Tone - unable to really judge due to inexperience.

I won't be laying down my cash until January, and I want to have a more discerning ear by then.

sounds like a good choice cos played through a half decent clean channel a strat will sound like any other strat. the 2 and 4 positions are nice to my ears. I've found strats always feel nice and comfortable so find a neck that feels great and away you go. If in any doubt then the Mexican ones are fine and less expensive and look, feel, play and sound the same. Pricing is easy as there's so many of them for sale at any time. ranging is trickier because they have so many designations, but basically for the classic strat tone you have standard (Mex) or American standard (US) - the rest are all variations on the theme. If you want to trry a cheapy version I'd recommend Squier Classic Vibe.

I'm not skilled enough to play the guitars before hand and know if they are good value at their price.

First off, do some legwork online to see what you might be interested in and the price points.

Second, if you have a friend who plays, ask him to "test drive" your planned purchase for you. In the absence of a friend, most music store people would be happy to do a demo for you to give you an idea of the guitar's capabilities, sound, tone, etc. can be. If it's an electric, try to play it through the amp you'll be using because that can make a big difference too.

Good luck and happy shopping!