Gibson Brands Forums

john pearse acoustic strings

Richie321

I have some John Pearse PB lights on my J-15. I'm not good at describing why I like their sound, I just do. I've used both the 80 20s and the PBs, both lights.

I had on some Masterbuilts before. I think the JP are warmer (even the 80 20) but they still have a nice bright shimmer too. I also tried DR rares, and for whatever reason, the JP gave me a more thumpy bass, that was missing from the DR. This is just my experience.

They go for like eight bucks on Amazon.

A set of Pearse PB installed 10 days ago has settled in and sounding good now. Went from Elixir nano PB mediums to JP lights hoping that going from a coated to an uncoated string might get some more low end clarity. Possibly some improvement there. Good that the Pearse strings are shipped in sealed plastic, as opposed to the more expensive Elixirs, which could be fakes when purchased from online sellers. I would buy John Pearse strings again, but up next are some DR Rares, then Thomastik-Infelds, and then Pyramid Western Folks...

Just took a set of Mediums off the J-50. They have decent sound, but to me the texture of the strings is a tad on the rough side for my left hand death-grip like style. I've tried to like them, but always come to the same realization.