Gibson Brands Forums

Went Over to Mass St. Music Today

zombywoof

Plan was to have a soundhole pickup installed in my wife's 1960 J-200.

Anyway had some time to kill so I started playing. First grabbed a new J-200, Nah, did not float my boat. Then grabbed a 1943 J-45. I guess the guys in the store could tell from face I was not overwhelmed as after I put it down they agreed it was far from the best sounding Banner they had ever played. But then I got hold of some Collings. I went straight for the Waterloos both the X and ladder braced. Ka-ching, we had a winner - the Waterloo ladder braced guitar. Everything I love about ladder braced guitars but amplified. I really liked the wide open mids which decayed a bit faster than the X braced version but which also gave the guitar a lot of punch when you dig in. I swear this was the lightest guitar I have ever played. Hate to say it but this could be the guitar that may get me to part with my 1946 LG-2.

It's just a flutter, ZW. You'll sheepishly crawl back home to your LG-2 tomorrow, begging for forgiveness.

Beware the siren song of the flashy young thing......

I feel really sad when I think about how this picture would look without the one in the middle -- it would leave a hole.

LGs.jpg

Just sayin'

I feel really sad when I think about how this picture would look without the one in the middle -- it would leave a hole.

LGs.jpg

Just sayin'

The Waterloos were impossible to get after they came out as they were the'hip' latest and out of stock, otherwise I was pretty hot for one!

The LG1 on the right of shot would make a nice sister for your LG2, Zombi. Maybe cheaper than the W? The bridge on mine split in two a while back and I got an ebony bridge and bone saddle and it is just killer!

Just sayin'....number2!

BluesKing777.

I am not in any kind of hurry. What is always lurking in the back of my head is some of the worst mistakes I have made were selling guitars.