Gibson Brands Forums

Found a way to bond with my AJ

EuroAussie

So Ive had the Advanced Jumbo for some three years.

I originally bought it when i was starting my fingerpicking journey, and thought the responsive nature of the guitar, coupled with those rosewood chocolate overtones would make it a fingerpickign delight.

Except I found I didnt fingerpick so much with it, and instead prefered the Martin, LG-2 and the Bird for folky stuff.

Strumming wise I thought it was a bit too over the top with its loudness, projection and 80/20 strings.

So i wasnt sure what role this guitar had in my stable (always loved the burst though..) and had thoughts about giving it the chop and maybe buy a Furch cut away as I sold the SWD couple years ago.

Then when i started playing with a new partner in my band who also played guitar I thought I might make this guitar a gigging guitar for him, and installed a Fishman pickup in it.

But the other thing i also did is put PB light strings on her ..... and this is where the change came.

On the Martin J-40 PB's sound soon too dull and make the Martin sound sloppy and muddy, 80/20's are better to get the balance .... but on the AJ the PB's, especially once they are signficantly worn in start making this guitar really really shine.

My analysis of it now is that the AJ is naturally projective and powerful, in many ways too much, but the played in PB's give the guitar warmth a bit more like a J-45, but still are able to deliver clarity and projection, but in a more tamed, understated manner.

Suffice to say right now in the stable its become my go to guitar and the SJ has sort of being sitting neglected a bit.

But its amazing how such a string change can have on the quality of the tone and ones connection to the guitar. I love the tone and i love how easy it is to get a good tone from this guitar now, with the minimum of effort now .....rather than constantly trying to tame it.