Gibson Brands Forums

Callouses

fromnabulax

Seeing the other post about top wrapping and palm muting has inspired me to ask...

Anyone else out there besides me who plays with heavier gauge strings on both acoustic, as well as electric have a heavy callous on their right hand palm?

Ever since tossing my flat picks aside some 11 years or so ago, I developed a gnarly old callous on my palm where I rest my hand on the strings. Sometimes I even need to shave the darn thing down a bit, or if it gets in the way while I am gigging, I've even gone at the monster with my teeth.

Guest Farnsbarns

Right hand callouses!?!? I'd love to have much much playing time available. I mean finger tips if you're using them as picks but not on the palm.

See the deal is, I'm self taught.

When I look at so many of my fingerpicking heroes like Chet Atkins, Wes Montgomery, John Fahey, not to mention those classical guys, I see that they rest their pinkies supporting their palms above the strings down on, or around where a pick guard would be. Me? I rest my hand right on the strings, selectively muting the unpluckked strings as I go.

As for arthritis, this last summer was the worst year yet. My goodness, the truly excruciating pain in my left hand was almost unbearable at times. But hey, I gotta play!

Anyone else out there besides me who plays with heavier gauge strings on both acoustic, as well as electric have a heavy callous on their right hand palm?

Ever since tossing my flat picks aside some 11 years or so ago, I developed a gnarly old callous on my palm where I rest my hand on the strings. Sometimes I even need to shave the darn thing down a bit, or if it gets in the way while I am gigging, I've even gone at the monster with my teeth.

No right hand callouses at all. Just arthritis in the joints, middle finger and knuckle. Can't even make a fist anymore.

Could also have something to do with what you do for a living, other stuff.

We know RETIRED here does lots of "work" work.