Gibson Brands Forums

Noob - Looking for advice

TecDragon

I had never picked up a guitar till about two weeks ago, when my son and I decided we wanted to learn to play the guitar. Not master musicians but enough to serenade the ladies, perform at camp outs, etc. I bought him a junior guitar and I had a poultry 200.00 left over so I bought the Epiphone Hummingbird Artist. (because it looked nice, remember I am a noob) the problem is that his junior guitar plays better and sounds better so we both tend to play it. My Hummingbird does just that hums and buzzes, so I spent the first few days figuring out why and adjusted the action by a quarter of a turn till the buzzing went away. However, now the guitar has become very unforgiving about exact finger placement, strength, etc. Resulting in notes that just go flat, unless nearly perfectly played.

The questions - I like the guitar (it looks nice, remember)

1. Should I buy extra light strings, such as the elixir 80/20 Extra lights? I have heard that lighter strings make learning easier.

2. What other advice would you give to a new player?

3. I thought about returning it and buying the Epiphone Pro-1 as it states it is for beginners, I looked at it before buying the Hummingbird but the Pro-1 says it has shorter scale length and a slimmer neck, as an adult with semi-chubby fingers I was worried that my semi-chubby fingers wouldn't have enough room to play, so I bought a full size. Should I return it and get the Pro-1 or should I stick it out with the Hummingbird and hope that some of you advice will resolve my issues?

Also, I did buy us lessons, and I am going to have our instructor take a look at the guitar tonight as well. Learning is going well, both of us have learned to play a kind of blue-sy beginners song, so we are enjoying it.

Thanks

As someone who started teaching myself to play shortly before my 49th birthday I'll give you my 2 cents worth.