Gibson Brands Forums

Problems setting up GR3 - MAC

craigr726

I was lucky enough to get my RIP today, and am running through the setup. First, let me say that I am BRAND new to this computer music genre, so please bare that in mind. And, for the record, I'm doing this on a MacBook Pro running Leopard that is just over a year old, so I'm certain that I meet all the min requirements.

I have installed Ableton and GR3 and and am unable to hear the output through my computer speakers. Its almost as if some of the options in the menus are missing. For example, in GR3, Audio and MIDI Settings, under the MIDI tab, there is no way to change the output device names. It's clear that I'm getting input- I strum the DF and the in and out signal indicators at the top of GR3 go back and forth and the same happens on down the page.

Having said all that, I'm sure its something very basic, but I have no idea- I've read the manuals, gone through them step by step, but 5 hours into it, I'm getting a bit frustrated.

Any ideas?

Thanks guys.

unable to hear the output through my computer speakers.

Thats correct - you will NOT be able to hear GR3 or Ableton using the Macbook Pro internal speakers.

you must connect Active Near Field Monitors or Headphones to the RIP's Output jacks.

This is all covered in the RIP Manual.

Headphones - I like Sony MDR-7506

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-7506-Pro-MDR-7506-Headphones/dp/B0002H02ZY

Picking which pair of Studio Monitors is right for you and your budget is another topic.

I have good luck with a pair of Samson Resolv 65A active monitors.

http://www.humbuckermusic.com/samres65aacr.html

others like Mackie HR824

http://www.google.com/products?q=Mackie+HR824&btnG=Search+Products&hl=en&show=dd

others like Genelecs, etc, etc, etc,

For example, in GR3, Audio and MIDI Settings, under the MIDI tab, there is no way to change the output device names.

Thats because the RIP has zero MIDI functionality -