Gibson Brands Forums

Patriotic challenge to the forum

ZettaVita

I admit I am a beginner with a Gibson and a too-loud amp, but I have a plan to make it work for one day. Perhaps you can join me.

The challenge:

Between now, and July 4th, learn how to play the National Anthem. Clean, Hendrix, your own style, whatever. On that day, drag your amp out on the front porch, turn it up and let the frets fly. Not American, or live in another country? Please, join us on that day - either play the Star Spangled Banner or the anthem of your own country. Would be interesting to hear O Canada on guitar. Who knows, you might find another guitar player on your block, your town, or across the canyon. Who's with me?

Way ahead of you pal.

I've been doing several patriotic songs for decades as instrumentals, as well as sung.

America The Beautiful, Yankee Doodle Dandy, God Bless America, Star Spangled Banner, the list goes on, and I perform them a lot, not just on patriotic holidays.

Guest Farnsbarns

Way ahead of you pal.

I've been doing several patriotic songs for decades as instrumentals, as well as sung.

America The Beautiful, Yankee Doodle Dandy, God Bless America, Star Spangled Banner, the list goes on, and I perform them a lot, not just on patriotic holidays.

I've never understood why Americans see Yankee Doodle as a patriotic song. It's fine by me, just curious, are you all aware that it's a British song written to take the pee out of "wannabe" dandies from America who visited the UK during the Victorian era?

Edit: Oh, and I'm up for some patriotic guitar slinging. Count me in, although I might play the affore mentioned song. In my mind it'll be a little light hearted banter at you all but that's just me being a D.

I've never understood why Americans see Yankee Doodle as a patriotic song. It's fine by me, just curious, are you all aware that it's a British song written to take the pee out of "wannabe" dandies from America who visited the UK during the Victorian era?