Gibson Brands Forums

NEW BUILD - ES 225 Semi Hollow

I've alluded to starting this project on here a few times in the past. I can officially say the project has begun

i'm making an ES 225 Semi Hollow. Luckily my wife is an art teacher, so i have all sorts of cool tools and work

space to make detailed drawings

post-74485-038101000 1460404866_thumb.jpg

This is my First Build, so i had to create a wood working space for myself. I built a workbench to accompany my other work bench which holds a drill press. i also created

a detachable "peninsula" which can hold one of my routers and a skill saw. im in the process of building a router sled for the body cavity etc...

post-74485-030794100 1460404894_thumb.jpg

i cut out templates this weekend. Hopefully i can start on the neck this week. I plan on building this first one out of

inexpensive stock cedar from a local lumber yard, the fret board will be made out of left over mesquite hardwood flooring.

once i get a build under my belt i'll transition to better tonewoods. Theres a local "moulding" company near me that has mahogany and maple slats that are

already planed and jointed for pretty cheap.

post-74485-071379900 1460405148_thumb.jpg

These templates are on 3/4 pine, the curves on the body need to be more uniform, ill be hand sanding tonight, but priority now is the neck and fret board

Stay Tuned

Nice one.. Looks like a cool project...

I was just looking it up as I wasn't sure.. But do you plan to use cedar for the neck?

I ask because theres different types of cedar and some of it I don't think will be strong enough for a neck, specifically White Cedar which ranks at 350.. You want it to rank at least 700 on the Janka scale (and that's probably pushing it).. However some Cedar ranks well.. So it really depends on the exact type. Check this it gives you an idea of the hardness of a fair amount of wood species. https://sizes.com/units/janka.htm