Gibson Brands Forums
Sign in to follow this  
carranoj25

Help Identifying Speakers

Speakers are mfg/date coded just like potentiometers. Somewhere on the frame there should be two stamped or engraved numbers. One is the mfg/date code, the other is the part number. Disregard any numbers found ink stamped on the cone. Those apply only to the cone itself.

Here's a pretty good list:

http://www.thespeakershop.com/speakerrepair/eiacodes.html

Once you figure out the mfg/date code number, you can use the part number to check that mfg for the OEM specs on resistance, wattage and frequency.

Resistance of a non-blown speaker can be measured with an ohm meter, but wattage rating and frequency response can only be determined from design specs.

Dang! I'm not an expert of Celestian speakers.

One thing I wonder though is when they started making them in China, and also IF they were/are still making them in England (As well as the "Rola" deal). But these labels clearly state "Made in England by Rola".

Being not too familiar, I can't guess by looking at them. I suppose it might help to know what cab they are in, when it was made, and a "guess" as to if they are origonal to the cabinet.

Dang! I'm not an expert of Celestian speakers.

One thing I wonder though is when they started making them in China, and also IF they were/are still making them in England (As well as the "Rola" deal). But these labels clearly state "Made in England by Rola".

Being not too familiar, I can't guess by looking at them. I suppose it might help to know what cab they are in, when it was made, and a "guess" as to if they are origonal to the cabinet.

The cab is a JCM 800 Lead Series Cabinet. It was given to me so I couldn't tell you if these were always in there or came stock

The cab is a JCM 800 Lead Series Cabinet. It was given to me so I couldn't tell you if these were always in there or came stock