Gibson Brands Forums

Help rewiring guitar!

Decrypt

Hi all,

I'm having a hard time rewiring a GP4T Steinberger.I'm no electrician expert but I know how to follow a diagram but so far what I've tried doesn't work.

Here are two photos, hopefully someone can give me some advice.I don't want to spend over £50 for something that I think I can do on my own.

Cheers guys!

20160823_150734_zpslpuzty5d.jpg

20160823_150746_zpsovy5ouwg.jpg

I know you know this but Ill say it anyhow since you aren't a techy you said. You don't have the plug plugged in.(big black ones_

Also you may have the jack wired wrong. Looks like you have a ground wired to both leads on the jack. Put all your black leads to one terminal on the jack.

I know you know this but Ill say it anyhow since you aren't a techy you said. You don't have the plug plugged in.(big black ones_

Also you may have the jack wired wrong. Looks like you have a ground wired to both leads on the jack. Put all your black leads to one terminal on the jack.

There is only one plug/connector which I've always pluged when testing.

The left black wire is from the battery.What do you mean to one terminal.

There is only one plug/connector which I've always pluged when testing.

The left black wire is from the battery.What do you mean to one terminal.

Check to see if your cable is actually contacting the jack properly. Typically when you get no sound it is an issue in the jack.

The jack is just a hot and a ground. Make sure you don't have a ground going to both.

Also don't get fixated on the guitar end. Could your cable not be contacting properly at the amp. Check your basic connections. Test another guitar too. Does it play?

Keep your thinking simple. I think you have a simple problem.

Is that battery good?

The output jack is brand new and the cable jack is in perfect connection with it.Battery new, cable is good.