Gibson Brands Forums

LES PAUL OWNERSHIP DEMOGRAPHIC SURVEY

Lunatic

As Bence and Farns have both suggested this poll tells you no more than the age of forumites who are Les Paul owners on this day.

Ess says "Predictably... comfortably off baby boomers.".

I know this poll is just a bit of fun but perhaps it would have been more informative had we also been asked "At what age did you first buy a Les Paul?".

I got my first LP (s/h) over 30 years ago when I was a dirt-poor student in my early 20s. which is hardly a comfortably-off Baby-Boomer.

P.

In 1985 (age 25) I traded a 1955 ES-295 with amateur refinish, a 1960s Epiphone Cortez, and a basket case '67 Fender Coronado for a wine red 1980 LP Standard with DiMarzios. I kept it about a month before trading it for a 1950s Hofner Committee archtop.

Many dumb moves over the course of 30 days.

I know this poll is just a bit of fun but perhaps it would have been more informative had we also been asked "At what age did you first buy a Les Paul?".

#1 1975 (A deluxe gold top) I was 18.

#2 1995, I was 38...

#3 2003, I was 46

I still have #2 and #3

In 1985 (age 25) I traded a 1955 ES-295 with amateur refinish, a 1960s Epiphone Cortez, and a basket case '67 Fender Coronado for a wine red 1980 LP Standard with DiMarzios. I kept it about a month before trading it for a 1950s Hofner Committee archtop.

Many dumb moves over the course of 30 days.

Get my new book, How to Turn $1 Million in Real Estate into $200 Cash!

I have plenty of horrible deals in my past. Hopefully not too many in the future.

I'm 51 and just got my first Gibson LP a month ago. Two Epi LPs a year ago.

Hello.

What is Your research is about?

When You ask the age of Les Paul owners, it is also interesting for how long they are owning these instruments.

Bence.

It's not really research. More curiosity. Length of ownership didn't occur to me. Next poll perhaps.

On reflection, you are right. This is what I should have asked. Poll modified. Thanks