Gibson Brands Forums

New Les Paul Owner

John L

Hi there everyone, new here so be gentle!

I have recently acquired a 1992 studio and would like some advice of what amp I should get for the type of stuff I want to play if anyone could help.

Background information is I am not very good on the guitar I'm relatively new to playing and the story goes that I was going to buy an Epiphone Les Paul from my local music store but when I got there, there was a Studio that had had a headstock break, the repair has been done professionally to the point the guy had to point out to me it had been repaired and is guaranteed by the shop so I know it's not a problem it's been damaged (for what I want it for anyway) I got it for £380 which was what I was going to pay for a Plus Top so I figured why not get the real thing.

I know it's probably wasted on someone like me who is probably classed as an intermediate guitar player. I can play a few tunes here and there but I really do want to start playing properly. I want to play mainly Clash stuff, some Stiff Little Fingers, New York Dolls, Ramones. Pistols (you get the picture) and I'm only playing it in my house for me so no intention of ever gigging and I only really want to spend around £300-400 on the amp and if possible get a tube amp.

Any help from you guys who know what you're doing would be much appreciated as it's an absolute maze of amplifiers out there to choose from and to someone like myself who hasn't the slightest idea what I'm talking about I could do with some guidance.

Thanks in advance

John

Hello

My name also is John and I came to this forum after buying my 1st (and so far only) Les Paul.

If you are in UK which I think you are, there are lots of choices and many peope would say get a modelling (digital) amp as they are becoming the most common.

However if it's valves you want look at Laney and also the newer Marshalls - this Marshall is more than you want to pay but you get the idea -