Gibson Brands Forums

How should I prepare for acoustic gig

enso

Hi there, total technical noob here.

In a few days I will be playing singer-songwriter style gig and I know nothing about technicalities of stage. I have J45 and tomorrow I will buy LR Baggs Para DI - I read it is great DI box. But after that I'm confused. I will also be singing and I'm wondering about buying some of the acoustic amps with microphone line and mic effects like reverb - because, for one, I need some effects on my guitar, at least some reverb and on vocals it would be nice as well.

How the chain goes? Should it be guitar-> Di-> amp -> PA, or guitar->amp->DI->PA or something else? If I will plug my vocal mic into acoustic amp how it all will be working when signal will be transmitted to the PA? I don't know it there will be a mixer and sound guy, so it is best to think that there will be only raw PA system. Is there inputs in PA for two lines of XLR (one from DI box for example, or amp and one from mic, in case I would be playing without amp)? And what about normal "jack" inputs in PA?

I know it is all just rambling and you can see that I don't know basics, but maybe some of you know the situation and will be willing to help. It's my first serious gig and searching all that on the net is only confusing me more. Thanks!

Hi there, total technical noob here.

In a few days I will be playing singer-songwriter style gig and I know nothing about technicalities of stage. I have J45 and tomorrow I will buy LR Baggs Para DI - I read it is great DI box. But after that I'm confused. I will also be singing and I'm wondering about buying some of the acoustic amps with microphone line and mic effects like reverb - because, for one, I need some effects on my guitar, at least some reverb and on vocals it would be nice as well.