Gibson Brands Forums

Old Stock J-35

NCtom

I just got an old-stock J-35 from a local GC. It has hung there for a couple of years and had taken quite a beating. I have no idea why it never sold, the volume and tone are great. I guess it looked like a poor step-child with no flashy paint job and a missing pickguard.

Anyway, a lot of cleanup, a little crack repair, and assorted "improvements" and it is playing well, hopefully for a long, long time at a surprisingly low price. I am very pleased and happy to have it.

No pictures, sorry. I have no camera or knowledge of posting them. I'm afraid I'm technically challenged and old, besides.

Congratulations and enjoy your good fortune. I love a deal on the shop worn. It was pre-broken in. Good grab. If you shrink the pic down and then click browse below you'll probably fumble your way to posting a photo. That's how I do it...fumblingly.

Now you have to get the camera. There are used Kodak Easy Share cams on Ebay for 8 bucks.

Welcome to the circus, Tom! And good on ya for corralling a J-35! I tried a 35 when I went shopping with my Dove as trade bait. Good looking guitar, very loud but a bit too bright and jangly for my ear......might have been that particular instrument. The J-45 won the day.

Again, welcome and don't be shy around here........... [thumbup]

I just got an old-stock J-35 from a local GC. It has hung there for a couple of years and had taken quite a beating. I have no idea why it never sold, the volume and tone are great. I guess it looked like a poor step-child with no flashy paint job and a missing pickguard.

Anyway, a lot of cleanup, a little crack repair, and assorted "improvements" and it is playing well, hopefully for a long, long time at a surprisingly low price. I am very pleased and happy to have it.

No pictures, sorry. I have no camera or knowledge of posting them. I'm afraid I'm technically challenged and old, besides.