Gibson Brands Forums

Fire Eye Red-Eye preamp...who uses one?

Jinder

Hi all,

I'm interested in doing away with all the batteries and crap in my guitars and putting in some passive pickups (I already have a K&K in my '67 J45 and would look to put a passive Fishman undersaddle in my SJ100 as an experiment) and having a proper high quality Pre/DI on my board with an FX loop to run my OD, delay and looper in.

The Red-Eye seems the perfect solution but I've had no hands on experience with them. Can anyone chime in with some real world testimonials?

I have one and use it when doing open mic sets, plugging into a PA system. I do not use it with my Schertler combo amp. It does work fine with the combo amp but doesn't add enough to the sound for me to want to bother with a gadget in the signal chain. Direct into a house PA it does warm the tone just a bit and provides consistent impedance matching from joint to joint. The adjustable boost is handy at times, adding a little high end magic if the house system is a bit dark sounding. A pedal tuner does mute the output when placed in the Red Eye effects loop and the XLR out is great for systems that have a remote board. Can't think of a single negative on this one.........a solid, useful piece of gear.

I use one. For playing live with a K&K I think it is a necessity. Love the boost. And the box warms the tone up.

Extremely well made and easy thing to have in your gig bag. The other units have so many bells and whistles, and frankly those never get used by me. The K&K doesn't need much eq in my J50. Just the warmed tone ands the boost.

So... everything that Buc said...

I use and love the simplest version, the Dee-Eye:

2015-9-3%2BRed-Eye-256-Edit.jpg?format=500w