Gibson Brands Forums

Need help determining the model of my (1967?) Gibson 12 string acoustic

RJBAudio

Hi all, I'm new to this forum but I've been playing guitar for about 20 years. I picked up a used Gibson 12 string acoustic guitar back around 1990 (for $150) but never really did much research about exactly which model it is. I've had it for almost 20 years now and still love playing it. One of the main reasons why I bought it initially was because despite its age, the neck was perfect and the action was great (and still is). The thing that sets it apart from most modern 12 string guitars is that it has a pretty small body with a neck that hits the body at the 12th fret and these factors give it a unique, crisp sound.

From my research on the web I was able to determine that it was probably made in 1967 (based on the serial number - 887606) but I can't seem to find the exact model. There are some that are similar (the B25) but still don't match (the 12/18 fretboard and the natural wood head color... not painted black). I made a web page which describes the guitar in more detail and includes a few pics as well as a sample recording of me playing mine (somewhat poorly). Scroll down the page past my classical guitar recordings to see my Gibson 12 string.

http://www.rjbaudio.com/guitar.html

Any insight into what model my guitar might be or even how much money it might be worth (but I don't plan on selling it) would be greatly appreciated. It would be nice to be able to give a solid answer the next time somebody asks me about it other than "I don't know but it is a Gibson, probably made in 1967." Thanks in advance.

P1010075.JPG