Gibson Brands Forums

Did I Make a Mistake?

Liystalander

Hey everyone,

I want to preface by apologizing in advance if I have posted this in the wrong place. I don't usually post on forums.

I was hoping for some advice. My birthday is coming up, (March 6th), and my mom was going to get me a Dark Fire, which was purely awesome. It would be my first Gibson. Tonight, we went to the local Guitar Center, to order one. While we were waiting, I decided to look at some other guitars, and found a Gibson Les Paul Supreme. I ended up leaving with the Supreme. I chose it because:

1. The finish was FANTASTIC!

2. It sounded really good.

3. The quality of workmanship seemed to surpass everything there.

4. The sales guy said it was nicer.

I'm wondering if I made a mistake. Should I have gotten the Dark Fire? I'm 14, and I just started playing guitar. I've played bass for a year. I want a guitar that is going to last me forever. I also couldn't decide if the Dark Fire was too gimmicky. I mean, I LOVE computers, and am a total geek, but does it take some of the feeling out of playing the guitar? How is the workmanship on the Dark Fire, compared to, say the Supreme? Did I make the right choice? What about a Les Paul Custom?

AHHH! So many questions...

Any advice would be appreciated.

I want a guitar that is going to last me forever

I think you made an excellent choice - and you are very lucky to have a Les Paul Supreme at your age - It will last a lifetime. And yes - the Les Paul Supreme is a much higher quality guitar than the gimmicky Dark Fire.

As you advance you may find you enjoy augmenting your sonic palette with additional guitars.