Gibson Brands Forums

The Story of my Axe

RS1976

My Les Paul Special is aces. she's beautiful... shes everything i ever wanted in an instrument. i played electric all through my youth, punk rock etc... then in my mid 20s... i began to study classical guitar. I studied classical guitar every single day for 9 years... I played in competitions, played weddings, corporate galas, I made a good living at it. I still do make a good buck when asked to. However for a very long time, I wouldn't touch an electric unless I absolutely had to. I honestly thought I was done with amplification. for a long time I didn't even own an electric guitar.

Then at my stagehand job recently we installed a new house PA system. we tested out the new speakers. A music rental house supplied some marshall cabs, fender twins, ampeg cabs, and a Les Paul Standard. My boss who plays drums gets behind the kit and says "grab a guitar man we gotta test this new ****" we had a BALL!!! It felt so good to play a Les Paul again.. that was the most fun I ever had at work...

few days later I was in a vintage store in town. They 'woke the dragon' I tried every guitar in my price range. I saw one for 750. and put the money down on it. On my way out the door, I asked the proprietor if he'd let me play a Les Paul Special VOS TV Yellow. he handed it to me and I went into the amp room. It took less than 20 seconds to feel it. But man it was legit. The neck was HUGE, the sound was HUGE, the butterscotch hue, I dunno... it just 'felt' right. I couldn't afford it. Nevertheless, I worked every hour of overtime, took the bus to work, ate tuna, asked my old man for a loan... but I made it happen. the willingness to work so much overtime also made a good impression on my boss!! (win win)