Gibson Brands Forums

Epihone Nighthawk - Broken neck - Help

Pulpoensalsa

Hi guys,

I had a car accident some years ago and my fantastic Epiphone Nighthawk was broken: the neck split in two pieces. I tried to fix it for myself but the tunning is lost after 8th fred. Anyway the work to join/glue both parts wasn´t an "excelellent" job cause I am not an expert.

I am looking for ideas about how fix it.

I thought to buy a neck from another guitar that could be fit with my guitar.

Not sure if i should bring the guitar to one "guitar builder", maybe would be the best idea.

I really would like receive advice about how recover my guitar...

Excuse me for my english! and thanks in advance!!!

post-85910-051114800 1514464405_thumb.jpg

• 3 weeks later...

If you have one of the mid-late 90's Epiphone Nighthawks I'm pretty sure they were all bolt neck guitars. Finding a replacement neck might be a problem as many of them broke off at the headstock and owners were always looking for replacements. And because it's a 25.5" neck it's not easy to source an aftermarket neck. Fender necks won't fit because of neck pocket dimensions. But you can use an F neck if you plug the screw holes and re-drill them. There will be an open area around the sides of the pocket but the neck can be made to intonate.

You probably have a few more options;

Scour The Internet, leaving Wanted To Buy messages everyplace you go. What you are doing now.

Find someone willing to build you a replacement.

Build your own. Not a big deal if you are set up for it. But would cost a bit if you have to acquire all the tools necessary.

Probably your best option would be to watch for a used Nighthawk RI from the more recent run and replace the whole guitar. I know it's not the answer you are looking for, but it is probably the best solution. The RI guitars are generally better made than the earlier run and are setneck which some believe is better.