Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Drops Cakewalk (Sonar)

drathbun

I have been a supporter of the Gibson company since I bought my Songwriter Deluxe in 2006. I know the company has been shifting its corporate image for a while, moving towards being a "consumer electronics" company rather than a guitar company. However, I have continued to support the Gibson acoustic division since Bozeman has been continuing to make excellent products and been excellent at customer support.

I have been recording with Cakewalk products since Cakewalk PA9 (2006). I have upgraded consistently through the Sonar products to Sonar Platinum. In 2013, Gibson acquired Roland which owned Cakewalk/Sonar. At that time Gibson/Roland started moving the software to a "rental" mode where you paid monthly for the use of the software. In 2015, Cakewalk offered users the option of a "lifetime subscription" to Sonar Platinum. For close to $200 one-time, you could own Platinum and receive lifetime updates for free. A lot of users on the forum smelled a skunk, but Gibson/Cakewalk assured users they were sincere and the software was not going anywhere. I bit, and bought the lifetime subscription.

Fast forward to November 2017 and this:

Cakewalk Announcement

After 30 years of Cakewalk's long and illustrious history, I am saddened to announce that we ceased new product development and reduced overall operations this past Friday. You can read the formal announcement from Gibson here, which states that this decision was made in order to align with the company’s acquisition strategy, focused on growth in the global consumer electronics audio business.