Gibson Brands Forums

Hello from Wales

Corsair1

Hello,

My name is Chris and I'm from Wales, UK. I've been playing guitar (badly) for around 35 years and love guitars, amps and classic cars. I think it's fair to say that my enthusiasm for guitars far exceeds my ability to play [smile]

Over the decades I've owned dozens of guitars. My first Gibson was a '72 SG which I bought around 1986. It was the first guitar I owned that had a low action and slim neck. It played like a dream. It had been resprayed black and looked quite good except the Gibson inlay had become a bit smudged with the paint.

About 18 months later I part ex'd the SG for a '76 Explorer. I remember the first time I plugged it in at home after buying it. The tone was similar to the SG but it seemed to have more sustain. As the years went by, I began to realise that there weren't many Explorers around. Some time in the '90s, I think, Gibson launched the 76 reissue Explorer. Some time later, I realised that 1976 was the first year Gibson relaunched the Explorers. I read somewhere though that a few were made in the early '70s for promotional purposes.

Many years have passed and I still have the Explorer. My thoughts are now turning to getting an SG again. I've seen a couple of stunning looking Custom Shop '61 reissue Les Paul/SGs in white for sale on the web recently. They both seem to have serial numbers that don't match the year claimed in the ads though. I've posted some questions in the Instrument ID and information section but realised I should have introduced myself first here. I apologise for my faux pas and hope this makes amends.

There seems to be a lot of useful and interesting information available on this site. The tips on improving playing should be of use to me. I hope to be taking part in these forums more in the future.

All the very best,

Chris