Gibson Brands Forums

Opinions please!

J-200 Koa

Guys,

I have never ventured into the vintage market before but this caught my eye. I have always been intrigued by the fretboard and headstock of these little guitars.

This example has obviously seen it fair share of use and abuse. Good deal or a potential disaster? Restore or leave it alone? Thanks in advance!

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-1930s-Gibson-LC-Century-of-Progress-flattop-acoustic-guitar/253830914885?hash=item3b19806345:g:55MAAOSwwNtbgGBH

I have been watching that one as well since it popped up. know another guy who is also biding his time on it. Problem is I am far from an expert on this model. I would say the guitar has also lost its original finish which put together with the lack of original pickguard and tuners could knock the value down as much as 60%. If you are unwashed when it comes to old guitars though it is always best to cough up the extra dough and buy from a reputable dealer. There are plenty of them out there with less than original instruments you can get at a deep discount. But you know what you will be getting is what you think you are and will also get an honest appraisal of condition. Hopefully Tom will who knows far more about these guitars than most of us will chime in.

I have one of the '94 RI's and like it. They have a sound of their own. As long as the bidding doesn't go crazy I would jump on it.

If I got it, I have a guy that would put a nice burst on it for $250. I wouldn't want to put much more than that into it.

The condition of the fretboard does look a little scary.

I am a sucker for cool old guitars, but you must know the context to know what to expect.

A few points: