Gibson Brands Forums

The blessing of a hotel room

Lars68

Been traveling with work and had to spend a few night by myself in a hotel room. Fortunately I brought my little travel guitar and came home with a new song.

Raising a young family seldom means enough free time to sit and write a song in such a short time period. I simply love the creative process, and get enormous satisfaction out of writing my simple songs. There is just something wonderful about finding that one word, phrase, or melody line you have been looking for. I'm not very good at it, but I love trying.

This time around I set out to write a song about comforting a young child at bedtime, while at the same time worrying about what lies ahead, when the child is grown up and decides to follow his/her own path into the world. This one is in Swedish. It does not feel right to use English when I write something as close to home. As for the lyrics, this might very well be the best I've managed to put together. I did a rough, and not very poetic, translation below. All meaning is there, but none of the rhyme etc.

Here is a recording:

It's in one take, from start to finish, with vocals and guitar (Hummingbird) at once into the same mic (Myrtle). A touch of reverb and compression added, nothing else.

THE MOST BEAUTIFUL OF BLUE

Verse 1

Close your eyes, the most beautiful of blue

Put your head down on the pillow

and drift off to dreamers' land

I caress your hair, no monsters will come tonight

Sleep peacefully

and go chase the pirates' treasure

Chorus 1

You you you are my blood

You you are my everything

You you you are my blood

You you you you are my everything

Verse 2

Five cold winters, and four springs now since you came

In ten more trips around the sun

will you then still want me to sing you this song?

Have we drawn all the maps you'll need

when that day comes

and you'll go search your four-leaf-clover?

Chorus 2

Verse 3

I hope you'll find someone to walk

like sunshine beside you