Gibson Brands Forums

Setup question

Chezpop13

Ive had my les paul tribute for a while, and after about a year now i found that the frets buzz quite a bit. Im no expert, so im not sure if this is a "normal" amount of buzz, but it seems like i need to give it a lot of relief for the buzz to go away. Right now it's set up with the relief about the width of a business card (don't know the exact measurement) with the action set at a little over 2 mm. The buzz is noticeable as i can hear it through the clean channel on my amp, but again, not sure.

I agree with the advice of getting a trusted "guitar tech" to set you up. Explain your situation and you may get the assistance you require. Another thing is I advise is to take some time to research online whether it be videos or articles discussing setups. It will be to your benefit to learn how to simply adjust screws and such on your guitar, because typically that is all it takes... The right knowledge and tools will go a long way for you IMHO. But in the meantime, I'd take the advice aforementioned by the other contributors. It takes time and patience to learn proper techniques to setup a guitar. They are all different, but concepts can be pretty much similar on electrics.

It's probably a combination of relief and bridge height and probably caused by weather/humidity. I had to adjust mine a few times after buying them and letting them acclimate. If you're not experienced, a good setup isn't very expensive and very well worth it. Some may actually tell you what they did, what they recommend and how they did it.

It's probably a combination of relief and bridge height and probably caused by weather/humidity. I had to adjust mine a few times after buying them and letting them acclimate. If you're not experienced, a good setup isn't very expensive and very well worth it. Some may actually tell you what they did, what they recommend and how they did it.

...which the OP should insist be included in the price.