Gibson Brands Forums

Jam bands

callen3615

Ok, well last weekend I had my first really jam session with some guys my neighbor knew. I was told that there were these 3 guys that were amazing and I should go play with them. Well I get there and its just a bunch of stoners sitting around in this little house-like structure. Well we met and started to get ready have a good time.

Well I kinda let the guys know I was a newbie and didnt know much as far as music theory goes. I said if they just gave me some chords or a riff or something I could do that. BUT they said na were just gonna "jam". I was confused, I also just wanted to "jam". So the drummer starts a beat, the lead guitarist is standing beside a keyboard and his brother is holding a mic. The lead guitarist starts improvising on the keyboard, his brother starts rap/singing to the "music". I stood there for 12 minutes until they were done, I just stood there holding my guitar. Afterward the drummer said, "hey bud you looked kinda lost". I said yeah I was. So the lead guitarist said what do you know. So i started playing panama, I figured there was enuf stuff for everyone in that tune. The lead guitarist watched me play half way through the solo and said he didnt like that one. Then the lead guitarist picks up his sg and the bassist starts a riff and they just go with it again. After another 10 minute long song full of a 8 minute improv guitar solo and drum solo they stop and just laugh. Then he played about half of hysteria by muse, then tush by zztop. I also observed his improv solos and vocals on both of these songs.

I left after another reggie-ish song they made up complete with 2 solos and vocals all from the lead guitarist. This was my first experience with "organized" music.

Is all bandlike environments like this? I thought we would play actual songs.