Gibson Brands Forums

60s neck on les paul std, when was this option introduced?

f1sh599

Yeah it's all kinda subjective anyways. Here is a picture comparison (60s neck on the left). According to this document it was in 2002 (later than I thought). Hmm, I'm looking around for a standard with a 60s neck before 2002 and all I see are custom shop ones. I can't believe that it was 2002 though, but maybe it really was...

Honestly, as an official option, I don't think it was earlier than 04. I'm just trying to get an exact model year. I'm a luthier and do repairs for over 20 guitar centers, store stock and customer guitars, and when I started doin the guitar center gig in 04, there were no standards with the 60s neck (at least with the option on the official paperwork).

Honestly' date=' as an official option, I don't think it was earlier than 04. I'm just trying to get an exact model year. I'm a luthier and do repairs for over 20 guitar centers, store stock and customer guitars, and when I started doin the guitar center gig in 04, there were no standards with the 60s neck (at least with the option on the official paperwork). [/quote']

I always thought being a luthier would be a fun job (not that I ever had the talent to be one though). So do you really enjoy playing around with all those guitars?

I did a google search on 2002 gibson standard les paul 60s neck and it seems as though that's when they started, but until we see one for sure you may be right. I can't find a used 2002 Standard with a 60s neck in my limited search...

My '88 LP Standard has a mahogany slim tapered 60's neck as well. It's quite a small, flat neck and at the same time it feels thick and very solid. I love it.

The '86 LP Standard I played had a wider neck and felt different. I thought that one had a 50's neck. Most new LP Standard Fadeds that I played with a 60's neck felt thinner and less solid compared to the 60's neck on my '88 LP Standard, but they are totally different animals anyway.