Gibson Brands Forums

Weird MK-35

brad4d8

Just checked an eBay listing for a MK-35, but it is nothing I've seen before (and I worked in a shop when they first came out, so I've seen quite a few). It has the right headstock and bridge, but instead of a round hole,the top has a series of small holes in it, some looking like weird f-hole and some at the end of the fingerboard and the end pin area. I'm wondering if this was some one of a kind prototype or if someone retopped it for some reason (can't imagine why). Regardless, it's definitely worth a look just for shock value!

Brad

https://www.ebay.com/itm/202582908763?ul_noapp=true

Seems like Gibson did a lot of development work with the MK35. I bought a used MK35 in the early 80’s that has a J50 top and pickguard. The Mk features on mine are the bracing, body shape and wood neck (no Mk hardware or serial number and has an old Gibson logo). There has been a few non-standard Mks pop up over the years. I’m still not sure what Gibson was up to. Maybe development to try and improve sound or simply letting the builders get creative with left over parts? Who knows? I still have mine and it plays and sounds nice!