Gibson Brands Forums

Telecaster pickups

Black Dog

I did a partcaster Strat with Tonerider pickups and if I were doing a Tele I wouldn’t hesitate to try theirs. I’m not really an expert on what’s “the best” pickup but I feel like they met my expectations from their description and what I wanted.

I have always loved the sound of my ‘08 American Standard Tele with stock pickups. Those pickups do not necessarily ooze that classic country twang but they have a nice clear and defined sound that seems to work for any style

I guess my experience overall is that it’s almost hard to go wrong with the Tele. It’s sortof an economical design by nature, so no need to spend a ton of money to get it right. Whether you go Fender, Duncan, etc etc it will probably meet your expectations. I would almost be more wary of the suggestion that says ______ pickup is the BEST although I realize my comment is basically aimless [mellow]

I've had Fender Vintage Reissues, Seymour Duncans, Dimarzios in my 1977 Tele. In 2009 I put it back 100% stock and never looked back. I even put the original 1 meg pots back in. I may go back to 250 so I can more easily do Buchanan swells.

I have always loved the sound of my ‘08 American Standard Tele with stock pickups. Those pickups do not necessarily ooze that classic country twang but they have a nice clear and defined sound that seems to work for any style

I agree. I have a stock 2007 AS Tele, and I think this is how a Tele should sound. BTW, I frequently use the neck pickup for jazz.

Thanks for all the recommendations, yeah I was wondering about Fenders. Noiseless maybe?

I know I said vintage but then I came across these which are interesting:

https://www.fralinpickups.com/product/steel-pole-42-telecaster/

https://www.fralinpickups.com/product/steel-pole-43-telecaster/

they're over-wound and with ceramic magnets, supposedly more of a P90 tone according to Fralin.