Gibson Brands Forums

Guitar for singer songwriter

Desolationrow

Hi guys, i’ve been saving for two years and it's time to choose my new guitar. 
Currently I have these guitars: Gibson J45 ,Gibson J200 and Gibson hummingbird. I’m a singer songwriter, I’m only strum chords(I don’t use picks)for voice accompaiment(I have a very low/deep/dark type of voice). Any ideas of guitars for that purpose? Thanks a lot for the help.

Toss up, really.  Being a singer/songwriter kinda guy myself, I'd say any of the three would suit the genre just fine.  The only caveat I'd toss in is to know that the 200 is a long scale instrument while the other two are short.  The 200 is known as one of the finest strummers around, true enough, but do consider the scale and body size difference in your decision.......not an issue for many but can be for others.  While not as loud as one might think, the 200 being maple is certainly brighter of tone, which may or may not work well with a dark voice........perhaps too much contrast between the voice and guitar, perhaps not.  Maybe the instrument you've been playing will provide you a point of reference in this regard.

Happy hunting!  😎

Yes, there is a Gibson guitar specifically made for that exact purpose and more, and it's this guitar of mine here:

3GhwR51.jpg

Good luck finding a J-180 these days, though. And even though I'm 6′ 2.4″ I still deem Gibson's minijumbo the perfect breed of a guitar for singer/songwriters.

Any of the SJs (SJ-200 & Co.) and round-shouldered dreadnoughts (J-45 & Co.) may qualify as well depending on the player's build and vocal prowess and/or recording/performance setup. A Hummingbird I would categorize as the perfect second guitar for the high-register parts, solos, and for rhythm backing or track doubling, less so for the singer/songwriter himself as his accompaniment guitar since it's too overpowering.

Edited by Leonard McCoy
  • Like 1