Gibson Brands Forums

SJ-200 1990s Model Info

biscotti54

I was wondering if someone could help me out here.  I have a friend who is considering buying this guitar.  The gentleman advertises it as a J-100 however, I think the sticker inside says J-200.  He seems to think it is from 1994.  The fact that the sticker is not directly centered over the center brace is unusual to me.  Also the headstock logo... was it ever used on this guitar?   The shape of the headstock seems to be correct.  I have never seen a gold script logo on this guitar, however, I am not an expert.   I would appreciate any opinions as to what we have here.  Could this be a fake?  A hybrid?   

Thanks.  

IMG_7079.jpg

IMG_7080.jpg

IMG_7081.jpg

Try typing those soundhole labels all day- surely misprints will happen. Maybe it was a Monday guitar. . . or a Friday.

Script logo is correct, banner ("Only a Gibson..."), correct as well. Taking a close look at the top line of the label in photo 2, it looks to also have the "Xtra" after J-200, which is how the J-100 was designated. The 1994 guitars would have the centennial logo, so as Slim says, maybe earlier.

A misprinted label is fine, and so Gibson. I'd be more concerned with what looks like a crack going into the rosette at the soundhole on the bass side of the fretboard extension.

9 minutes ago, 62burst said:

Try typing those soundhole labels all day- surely misprints will happen. Maybe it was a Monday guitar. . . or a Friday.

Script logo is correct, banner ("Only a Gibson..."), correct as well. Taking a close look at the top line of the label in photo 2, it looks to also have the "Xtra" after J-200, which is how the J-100 was designated. The 1994 guitars would have the centennial logo, so as Slim says, maybe earlier.

A misprinted label is fine, and so Gibson. I'd be more concerned with what looks like a crack going into the rosette at the soundhole on the bass side of the fretboard extension.