Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone les paul identity

Craigshug

I am no expert on genuine Epis.......but......I see some things that make me think it is a fake.

No serial number is a big one. All Epis should have one. So that right there makes me suspicious.

Next, the tuners are not on straight. Somebody did a very bad job on that. Don't think Epi would let something like that out the door.

The Les Paul decal on the headstock looks to be off center as well.

Could be real. But those things alone would make me think there is something up.

Well the headstock looks to be cut kind of offset, but it could be camera angle. The tuners look new, maybe replaced? And the truss rod cover looks to be the old style, late 90"s, early 2000's. You have any pics of the front of the guitar? And I would definitely like to see the rear of the pickups, and the inside of the pickup cavities. Missing the serial number is strange. But I'm not totally convinced it's a fake. Is it a LP Standard or what?

2 hours ago, gearhead said:

How about posting some pics? Headstock, logo, inside the control cavity, rear of the pickups.

I know some if the korean epis from the 90s had a sticker as a serial number which often pealed off this is why I’m not sure. Although you cant see in the pics the pots have the same writing on them my other epi from back then has on them,  yeah the tuners although are the exact same as my other one defo doesn’t look right I’m really not sure should the pups say anything particular on them underneath 

The headstock looks a lot better in those pics. The logo looks right, Sits where it should, and yes, I think it's most likely a Korean made Epi.

The pickups may not give any clues. I have an older Korean Special, headstock looks the same, the pickups are SAMSHIN, but have no adjustable pole pieces.

Edited by gearhead
  • Upvote 1

3 hours ago, gearhead said: