Gibson Brands Forums

This Mac Book thing...

dirtypurple

I have no real idea about Guitar Rig and using it on a PC/Mac. How does it all work? You plug the RIP into a Mac, run the software, it outputs the sound how...? back down via the RIP and into your amp?

What sort of spec Mac Book do you need?

Sorry for rambling questions...i'm a complete newbie to this stuff - I suspect I could find this if I searched around so apols for being lazy too!

Yes. You are right. All sound is routed in thru the RIP, processed and sent back out to RIP. You can plug your headphone into the RIP and play your heart out or route your output to any neutral amplifier (ie monitor, PA etc) or a mixing desk.

PC specs wise, Core2Duo 1.6 Ghz onwards should be ok from what I figure. The faster the CPU the lower you can drive your latency. Not an expert on the macs but it seems like any MacBook or MacBook Pro will do but I think some newer MacBook Pro's (aluminum body?) don't have the firewire port. Might be wrong on this one.

the minimum spec would be either a "white 13-inch MacBook" which still has a Firewire port or one of the previous Macbook Pros. The new 'unibody' Macbooks don't have Firewire anymore but the unibody Macbook Pro's do. If would personally recommend you buy a MacbookPro with the fastest processor you can afford. Although even the white Macbook should be fine for basic use with GuitarRig i think you will be quickly underpowered if you want to pile up effects. Since there is not so much hum and hiss with every effect added like with normal pedals/fx you'll quickly find the need for much much processing power than is available in any current laptop. Especially if you start working on entire projects with say, Live, Logic, Cubase you'll find that even a top of the line MBP can be quickly overloaded with a couple of instances of a good plugin.