Gibson Brands Forums

Should I buy this 70s J-55?

golucian

Hey folks. I’m on the market for a new acoustic and found this thing on consignment today- a 70s J-55, serial number A500574. Looking for any thoughts or feedback since I am new to Gibson’s and old acoustics in general. Waiting to talk to the owner to see if I can get any more info.

Overall the thing was in pretty good condition except for a serious crack near the sound hole (pictured) that appears to have been repaired as there is a cleat just inside the sound hole. It played easy, and had a nice tone despite old strings. I couldn’t tell if anything had happened to the neck and the back looked good. 

It’s been marked down to the sub-1000 price range and I may be able to bargain lower. I’m also looking at a 1961 LG1 at another shop in the same range. 

Any major red flags or thoughts on this guitar? I’ve read that some people dislike the Gibson’s of this era. Based in pricing I can see online, this seems like a good deal, but it may be due to the repaired crack. How worried should I be about that? 

91A6E3D2-2478-4B5B-BEBF-35584C10F5AA.jpeg

B1DDBB35-DC99-482E-AB6A-1A2F634A6221.jpeg

66CF4A9B-46FA-4BED-AFD8-F68F0C862DE5.jpeg

483A93FA-D5B1-478E-A7AE-1687520B6774.jpeg

FFE093D7-F9B4-4F8B-AA06-020380A12DB4.jpeg

24F29388-67A6-4696-930D-BE1ADD20305A.jpeg

06181DD0-D9A6-4538-A528-E03E1F189096.jpeg

F30192B5-9B3F-443D-9492-A8AB04915A66.jpeg

7EFBFF3D-77FE-421B-B2BE-1A3ABD6B6A07.jpeg

43A6B4DB-9B19-4A6A-9DEC-A2A1A84E4B1F.jpeg