Gibson Brands Forums

A Quest for an Advanced Jumbo

Dreadfulnought

Not being a Gibson owner (yet) my question is, 

Can one find a respectable, players clean sunburst Advanced Jumbo for around $1400 and what questions do I need to ask and what do I need to watch out for?

I'm new at buying used or vintage.

Thanks to all for advice on the LG1 I was considering.

Edited by Dreadfulnought
Spelling

Earlier this year I fell into a deal on an AJ for $285! It had a few issues I was able to fix, bought a new case and sold it a couple weeks later for $1600. Knowing how to or what it would take to correct minor issues can land you some great deals. Pawn shops on EBay are a great source. They usually don’t care as long as they make money. I see AJ’s between 1200-1800 quite often. 

• Upvote 1

Yes it is possible to find one for that price. Actually, about two weeks ago on Ebay there was one I could’ve gotten for $1,400 and then I think shipping costs (Ebay wont let me view what ship wouldve cost now but I think it was $50-$70) . The neck strap button had been moved, the pickup was removed, and there was a tiny (typical nitro finish) finish crack on the top, but it was otherwise very clean. I would’ve bought it if I wasn’t still waiting patiently for my new J45 to get back from the truss rod replacement (it may cure the itch I have for a advanced jumbo)

2 minutes ago, Dave F said:

Earlier this year I fell into a deal on an AJ for $285! It had a few issues I was able to fix, bought a new case and sold it a couple weeks later for $1600. Knowing how to or what it would take to correct minor issues can land you some great deals. Pawn shops on EBay are a great source. They usually don’t care as long as they make money. I see AJ’s between 1200-1800 quite often. 

$285!?! I thought I got a good deal on my brand new 2018 J45 standard that Im going to have $1,100 in, but that takes the cake

19 minutes ago, Dreadfulnought said: