Gibson Brands Forums

Veterans?

KSG_Standard

I was just curious how many vets we have on the forum. U.S. or Other country.

I chose not to join the military when I graduated from high school in 1978. I wonder now about whether I made the right choice, but it's too late to do anything about it. If you did serve, what did you do in the military?

In my country it was obligatory to serve in the military for at least 1 year when you turned 18 at the time I turned 18 (1996) but I didnt serve because I was in the states studying (the people that didn't care about that and could, just avoided it); when I came back they finally had changed that so that you could chose to go or not.

I wanted to go in as a mechanic. There used to be an air base near here and I would have requested to be stationed here. I took my ASVABs in early '78 and got 95 on everything except Business Administration, which I got a 90 (that's using the Air Force scale of 100; others had odd numbering systems) and the Navy guy pestered the living snot out of me to go on a nuclear submarine. No thanks. Finally I stayed here and went to tech school and left my hair long. It's easy for me to look back and say I should have gone in but I'll stop short of saying that. I had my reasons for staying; no reflection on the service, just that being home outweighed all.

Welp, if kin count, my brother was in the Army, 86th Signal Battalion, stationed in Heilbronn Germany back in the early '70's. Went on from there to be a microwave tech for several phone companies when cellular communications was in it's infancy, and now is a computer tech working for again, several companies located in the greater Dallas Tejas locality. MAN, I kick myself for not going into the military!

My Dad was/is a Marine. He fought in the Pacific in WWII. Toughest man I have ever met, not just because he is my Dad, either.