Gibson Brands Forums

screaming newbie here....

Tiger0018

Hi there, all.  Just looking for advice about possibly selling my Dad's 1957 Les Paul Jr.  Someone told me if I can determine the serial number and give it to the Gibson site, they would be able to give me an idea as to what the guitar is worth.  One of my questions to you guys is, how much of the value is based on overall condition?  A friend told me the neck may be "slightly" warped.  If I have it repaired, does that affect the selling price? (as in, never polish a Ming vase).  Serious replies only, please...  Parting with this guitar is going to hurt a lot, but current financial status is forcing me to do things I never dreamed I'd have to do.  Thanks a bunch.

Tiger

If you know the model number and date then you would be just as better off doing a search on Reverb or similar auction sites and seeing what similar model/year/condition guitars go for; that will give you a rough idea of a guide price. As with everything, these things fluctuate in price due to underlying economic trends, supply and demand and all that. As for condition, it depends. If the neck is only slightly warped, you might better off selling 'as is', describing it as such and allowing the buyer to make his/her decision over whether and where to get it fixed. You potentially run the risk of getting a sub-par fix that affects the price.

Edited by Filbert

are you in the US?

If I was you, I would contact Eldery Music and work with them.  They do appraisals of instruments such as this. 

While I am not sure of the cost (maybe 50 bucks?? it IS a service they offer) 

They are probably the best in the business for this kind of information.

Everything else is really just a shot in the dark.

Edited by kidblast

1 hour ago, Tiger0018 said:

Hi kidblast, while I appreciate the lead, I cannot afford an appraisal fee. (The whole idea of selling the guitar is to get OUT of debt, lol)

But I will have a look at the site.  Thanks for the info!