Gibson Brands Forums

Bought my 2019 j45 modern walnut cutaway 3 months ago

Nextcountrystar

I bought it like 3 months ago.  At first it was beautiful I’m new to guitar it sounded deep and good now it sounds quieter and dull. Also the low e string rattles if I hit it to hard not even that hard. It sounds different. Do I need new strings or what? Also the little black bag with the battery inside fell off including the tape holding it in place I superglued it back on the black wire isn’t in sight but you can see it hanging there. Anyway what could be the problems? I also bought an amp and a 60s telecaster so idk maybe something there

A few variables that I think are responsible.

1) new strings. YAS 

2) let’s say you live in the heartland. If you bought three months ago, you bought in August or late summer. The humidity was likely higher. It’s likely as a result the ACTION on your guitar was higher... no buzzing. Now it’s colder, and the relative humidity has dropped... I’m guessing your action has too. Be careful. Keep your guitar humidified 40-50%. Keep it in its case with a Ziplock bag punched with holes and a wet sponge. Keep it wet.

3) did you superglue the battery connector behind the bag? I’m not understanding this part.

give us some more information.  Where are you located.  I’m guessing a $60 setup with new strings will make you Gaga over the guitar again.

When the strings are brand new they will exert far more of their own influence on the overall tone. Some people like this while others prefer the tone once the strings have been on the guitar for longer. The more resonant a guitar is, the less impact aging strings can have on perceived volume and responsiveness. It sounds like you’ve been ready for a new set of strings for a while now.