Gibson Brands Forums

Need help verifying Les Paul

FrankD90

Hello Everyone, 

I'm new to the Gibson world but not musical instruments (been playing for a few years now). I was selling something locally recently until I was approached with a trade. The item I was selling was valued around $1300.00. The gentleman approached me with a Gibson Les Paul 2015 Classic model in green? I was hoping some of you could verify and confirm it was authentic? I have no interest in keeping the Gibson as I need the cash at the moment. So I'm just hoping it's real and I can get what I'd have into it at least. 

I couldn't post photos on the post but I will work on that. 

guitar.jpg

Edited by FrankD90
  • Like 1

They made those for about a year with the extra switch and 3 knobs with the metal nut thing. I'm going all in and saying real deal.

So you traded for this guitar and back then, and you did not know if it was real? It that right.

Edited by Sgt. Pepper

Correct. It was a gamble. The guy is said it was given to him, he built a throne (chair) out of guitars for Gibson, so he was paid with a few Les Pauls. He didn't play guitar so he was just trading them for things he wanted. 

What would you value this one at? Did I lose money?

4 hours ago, FrankD90 said:

What do you think it could sell for realistically? It comes with the hardcase, extra strings, and charger for the auto-tuner (which I know some folks don't care for too much). 

Not sure how much you charged the guy for what you built for him but new those probably went for close to maybe $1700 to 2 grand. Even if you didn't play it it still considered used maybe you could get 60% of that. I know that Les Paul 100 scroll looks like a three-year-old did it but that guitar is the real deal. That is one of the things people loathed about that year, that and the metal nut.

Edited by Sgt. Pepper
  • Like 1