Gibson Brands Forums

Buzz!!!

Typhuz

Sorry if this is covered in detail already and I missed it. I have read notes in the bug thread and other comments about the hum of the neck pickup but am still surprised by how loud it is. I have zero background noise utilizing the bridge or piezo in comparison and find the neck pickup to be unusable. (OK I am over-reacting but man is it loud and distracting).

I am primarily playing with headphones so thought this may have something to do with it but even on an amp it is bad. I've also gone through the polarity tests and appear to be setup correctly!

Have we received any update from Gibson on when this will be resolved? My understanding from the bugs thread is that it has something to do with the pickup configuration being locked.

Please correct me if I have misunderstood anything or if this is the expected result. It has been a long time since I owned a Les Paul...my last was a 1979 Les Paul Deluxe with Baby Soaps that I would love to have back...and I don't remember this much noise...of course different pickups.

Shawn

So my guess is this is a live with it situation for now? No word from Gibson on enabling the external coil on the neck pickup? And no better or a firmware update when I receive my RIP.

One other thing, it may sound like I am unhappy with my purchase but that is not the case. I find myself playing the Dark Fire more than any other guitar I have owned in my life, this thing is a beauty that needs a bit of work yet.

I am a bit confused by the above, as:

I did open the Neck PUP cover to find that the P90 was set-up the following way:

Two single coils, one on top of the other, two wires, one black one white, coming out of the assembly. So:

a) there was, to my understanding, no point for me trying to move coils around for "my" polarity issue (see here for more)

;) It seems to me the arrangement IS a hum cancelling set-up.