Gibson Brands Forums

George from Greece

GeorgeGR

Hey everyone, my name is George.  I'm in my 20s and i started playing guitar 6 months ago.  It was always my dream to learn guitar , since i'm a Rock fan , but too many guitar players i knew  were discouraging me to start guitar , cause it would take me years to learn the instrumental. To be honest starting guitar was the best thing i did to my life and it kills me that i hadn't started it way earlier.  Props to my teacher who really made me love guitar and generally music. I know it's soon enough to start talking about purchasing a new guitar but i loved from the first sight Gibson! SG and LP (not sure if its weird that i love both lol) and i hope one day i will own both of them... My first purchase will be Gibson SG for sure , i just dont know which model SG standard or 61. As for amp i'm between Koch Jupiter , Blues Junior and Voc AC15. Sorry for my grammar or vocabulary but English is not my native language and i hope i didnt get you bored with my long text but i wanted to share it with you 🙂 If you guys could suggest me or advise me anything for my first purchases guitar + amp , feel free please !

Have a great week and hope you and your family are safe from covid19 🙂 

Thank you!

George

Welcome aboard George.  I didn’t start playing until I was 43 (I turn 60 next month).  Never too old to start.  

Nothing weird about about liking both SGs and LPs.  I have two of each.  Great guitars.

8 hours ago, tx-ogre said:

Welcome aboard George.  I didn’t start playing until I was 43 (I turn 60 next month).  Never too old to start.  

Nothing weird about about liking both SGs and LPs.  I have two of each.  Great guitars.

Thank you sir. That really can inspire me to keep going! Have a great day.

I have a few SGs  (Classic and a Standard)  also 2 LP standards.  They are the guitars I will go for more often than not.

I don't think you will be sorry with either one,  (Standard or a 61)