Gibson Brands Forums

Where Do You Get Your Tubes?

elessar820

Where do you guys get your tubes? I'm looking at trying a new set because the Groove Tubes in my amp have to go. The drive that I get from them sucks. The stock tubes distorted very subtlety and when pushed with my TS9 it was awesome, now it just sounds fuzzy and harsh without the TS9. I still have the stock tubes, I may just put them back in, but I'm still going to eventually need to replace them, so any recommendations on brands as well? I need a set of EL84s and 12AX7s. I'm still pretty new with tubes, so I figure why not ask some guys that know there stuff. Thanks.

Doug's Tubes

For both 12AX7 and EL84, I recommend JJ.

I'd avoid Tung-Sol unless you have an especially dark sounding amp; they seem to be another popular preamp tube but I thought they sounded like *** in the three amps I tried them in. I found the Tung-Sols to be obnoxiously bright and brittle in a Blues Junior and Mesa Stiletto Deuce and totally uninspiring in a blackface Champ.

Doug's Tubes

For both 12AX7 and EL84' date=' I recommend JJ.

I'd avoid Tung-Sol unless you have an especially dark sounding amp; they seem to be another popular preamp tube but I thought they sounded like *** in the three amps I tried them in. I found the Tung-Sols to be obnoxiously bright and brittle in a Blues Junior and Mesa Stiletto Deuce and totally uninspiring in a blackface Champ.

[/quote']

Actually Rich after reading some posts in the Peavey Forum I installed the 12AX7 Tung Sol in V1 of my Peavey Classic 30 and left the rest of the JJs in there and the amp sounds much better, now I can see why the description of the Tung Sol says: linearity and low microphonics. It helped the amp a lot. The difference is noticeable right away.

Then in turn I used the JJ 12AX7 in my Champ 600 and the amp did not like it, the breakup is farty (tube is old too).

The JJ makes my Valve Junior sound great though.

It truly depends a lot on the amp.