Gibson Brands Forums

How Many Stinkers?

tru

Suppose you bought 10 used J-45 Standards from ten different online resources.

All appointments being equal, how many guitars do you believe you would find to sound poorly?

Granted, there might be a clear rating of all ten, best to worst. But how many of these do you believe would make you say, “yuck...i’d never want this J-45.”

(and, yes, please keep your “i’d never buy without playing it,”  responses, and pizz off.)

• Sad 1

No idea.

I'm new to the world of Gibson guitars, but from numerous conversations  with Luthiers and sales people in music stores (including stores that are authorized Gibson dealers) and what I've read, it appears that their Quality Control has been less than stellar for a number of years. So depending on the production dates of these on-line purchases, one could have between 0 and 10 that sounded poorly. 

RBSinTo

They'd probably all be good. But people have different ears, taste and preferences, , , that's what makes the world, , , and 45s go round.  . 

If following your Q my take is that series of 3 or 4 would have special appeal to me, , ,  or you or mister Henderson, , , and out them 2 would end in the difficult finale. 

Also 3 or 4 would probably be very alike and hard to tell from each other. 

This only if we set a range within 3-4 years - goin' up above that the unfathomable Bozeman spirit would play in. 

I’m a firm believer in the bell-curve when it comes to guitars.

Of any given model, most will be average, a few will be sub-par, and a few will be stellar in exhibiting the best qualities of that instrument’s signature sound.

So probability-wise:  two below average, six good, and two very good (out of ten).  Of course we’re talking probabilities, not exact science!

• Sad 1

4 hours ago, j45nick said:

None, if I had the chance to change strings and do a set-up. Bozeman-built guitars are consistently good, if not always equally good.