Gibson Brands Forums

Which one is your pick?

Lars68

If you had enough money burning in your pocket to spend on ANY ONE of the CURRENT guitars in the Gibson acoustic lineup, which one would you pick and why?

For me it would be the 1952 J-185 Vintage in natural because:

1. It's body shape I have never tried before.

2. Maple is a tonewood I've never tried before.

3. I don't have a Gibson in blonde

4. I imagine it to record very, very well.

5. The look and the appointments are extremely classy and “just right” and I care about looks.

How about you, just for the sake of discussion?

Lars

Edited by Lars68

Regardless of the financial circumstances, I don't want or need any more guitars.

I've got four (two dreadnoughts, one a D-28, the other a Gibson J-45 standard), a parlour and a hollow body electric, and that's it.

Based on my musical skill level I'm already over-subscribed. I play only for my own enjoyment, and so I have no need or curiosity to own any other types or styles. 

RBSinTo

I won't be boring and repeat the one I have coming. The one that was in second place at the time was the  Historic Edition J-55. My neighborhood location is not the quietest one around, so the big booming thing would have been great for playing outside. The bigger reason was the beautiful tone that rang out with light touches on the two demos I saw. I think I might have been waiting for one more video to pop up on You Tube at one point, but the pre-war SJ-200 with the RW B&S kept tugging at me. 

Lars, the J-185 Historic sounds awesome. As I was removing a Maple from my big-4, I had thought of replacing it with one. That one was winning out over the Love Dove and Original Series Dove.

4 hours ago, Lars68 said:

If you had enough money burning in your pocket to spend on ANY ONE of the CURRENT guitars in the Gibson acoustic lineup, which one would you pick and why?

For me it would be the 1952 J-185 Vintage in natural because:

1. It's body shape I have never tried before.