Gibson Brands Forums

Introduction and a question

BuckFlicks

Hello!  I've purchased my first Gibson and am awaiting its arrival.  It's the Studio Les Paul in Smokehouse.

I have watched a lot of demo and review videos, talked to local guitar sales guys, and was fairly certain what I wanted.  I love the sound of the pickups, I played the Tribute at a store and as far as I can tell, it's physically very similar to the Studio, other than the glossy finish, and everything felt good.  

I just watched the demo on the Gibson webstie  which said that when the push/pull knobs were activated, the humbuckers become P90s.  I haven't heard this in any of the other videos or from any guitar shop - is this true?  Is it possible?

Please refrain from condescending "Don't you know anything?" answers.  I'm new to guitar, and especially new to proper guitars like Gibsons.  I've done extensive research and this is the first I'd heard anything like that. I searched the forums and didn't see anything that resembled a reference to this.

Thanks in advance for your help!

BuckFlicks

Hey  welcome to the forum and good luck on the purchase.  We like pictures so feel free to show us what she looks like. 

About the "humbuckers become P90s"

Usually coil switching will shut off/turn on one or both coils.  There's also push pull pots that change phasing, but neither of those would quite do what a P90 does. 

The physical aspects of humbuckers vs p0s are totally different however.  P90s, single coil with massive magnet, humbucker, two smaller magnets.  The size of the magnet and the physical structures of each pickup makes a difference.