Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson LP Studio or EPIPHONE LP CUSTOM EB?

ZIII

Hey there,

I've read some topics about the same question, and the results and answers have been from one side to another. And then again, I've checked some reviews about them both, and many people say that the Epi's only difference is that they might not stay in tune as good as Gibsons. I'm sure there are more differences, since the price is so different.

But in fact, I'm a pretty new guitarist around here and have played for about 4-5 years. Right now I'm using an ESP LTD EX400, and have never played any Gibson or Epiphone. Also there are no shops in my country that sells them, so I'm not able to try them and must go for an online shop.

Lately I read something about Epiphone Elitist guitars. In what ways are they better than regular Epi Custom?

Which guitar would you recommend me to buy, the Gibson or Epiphone, when my budget is around £750-£800? Again, I have played for only about 4-5 years comparing to most of yours ... 15 years? So would I even notice the difference between the two of these?

Thanks for any response,

Oliver

"Epi might not stay in tune as well as a Gibson" ?

Wow that's desperate ! Must have come from one of those purists. Gibson my have higher quality tuners BUT I had a Made in China Epi LP ( not an Elitist) and had NO problems.

The Elitists are very highly rated guitars of very good quality. They are not a Gibson, but GM makes a Cadillac and a Chev and who's to say one is BETTER than the other. Different.......NICER.....prestige.... but better ????

Talking difference only, I would say in tone there would be, for various reasons ( different pickups). But they would each sound wonderful in their own way. They put some nice USA pups in Elitists.