Gibson Brands Forums
Sign in to follow this  
michaelb123

Custom shop es 335 or not

Hi all pardon my ignorance but i have a few questions abuut an es 335 i might be buying. I was told its a 2012 custom shop but when i searched the serial number it appeared to be a 2011 and not from the custom shop but Im new to es guitars and dont really know much about them...other than thinking they are awesome. Also the seller told me its stock original but im wondering if the tuners are in fact original...any ideas re above, exactly what model it is and its value approx.. Thank you in advance.

1600060619759.jpeg

1600060613473.jpeg

1600060588868.jpeg

1600060565153.jpeg

1600060573159.jpeg

1600060583585.jpeg

Edited by michaelb123

That link was a great read and really helped me get my head around the guitar..but there was no reference to custom shop...anyone got any links to es 335 custom shop specific information..cheers

Hi Michael,

All the 335's from that period came with a "Gibson Custom" certificate and with "Custom" on the case but they were built in the now defunct  Memphis factory and are not "Custom Shop" guitars. This is something that comes up quite frequently and causes confusion for obvious reasons.

If the seller is claiming it's a "Custom Shop", he either doesn't know his guitar or he's being slightly economical with the truth. Of course non of this is important if it really is a great 335, but it's something  you should know before parting with your cash.     

12 hours ago, IanHenry said:

Hi Michael,

All the 335's from that period came with a "Gibson Custom" certificate and with "Custom" on the case but they were built in the now defunct  Memphis factory and are not "Custom Shop" guitars. This is something that comes up quite frequently and causes confusion for obvious reasons.