Gibson Brands Forums

How much of it is in the music?

sparquelito

…and how much of it involves the time and the place where we experienced that music?

Author's note:
This is a lengthy thread.
Skip to some other thread if you have a short attention-span.
Thanks.

Okay.
I’m a big music fan.
I’m a musician.
I love making music.
I appreciate good music.

But I have to stop and think, every now and then, about that music which appeals to this person over here versus that which appeals to that person over there.

And I’m not talking about whether somebody appreciates Classic Country music but hates Rap and Hip-Hop. Or why millions of people love Classic Rock, but can’t stand Classical music.
There are cultural and sociological implications there that I can’t even begin to get into.

I wish to focus the discussion on that music that was important to us during our formative years (age 13 thru 19) and how that later informs that which we prefer now and to this day.

And lets set aside the formulamatic, computer-programmed crap that is on pop music radio and pop country music radio today. It’s shiit, and not worthy of discussion.

Look, rather, to the music that your peers and contemporaries love and enjoy to this day, and compare it to that which you love and enjoy.

Many guys and gals you grew up with, and went to school with, absolutely love Marvin Gaye, Leo Sayer, and Crystal Gayle, but don’t have any use for anything by Yes, King Crimson, or Jethro Tull.

Some contemporaries of yours, legitimate guitar players, love the music of Steve Vai, but can’t stand the recordings of Stevie Ray Vaughan.

The question I’m asking is, “does that music which we experienced during our teen years color our tastes and preferences many years later?”

I myself grew up on the music radio of early 1960’s classic country and mid-1970’s classic rock.