Gibson Brands Forums

Kitten ~ Luthier in Oz ~Do I have to play or NoT

Kitten

Hi ~ Thanks for having me ~ My Name is Kitten ~ Im a Luthier  from Oz (Australia)

i Build, Repair, Service & Restore Guitars, Banjos, Ukuleles (mainly) but all and any other stringed instrument included. I can’t play.. any of them... I haven’t found it necessary, that may sound crazy given my job but it hasn’t been a requirement höwever some find it insulting that I can’t.  (They like the way i fix them though.)

Do I really have to PlaŸ  or  NöT  ??? That is the question 

4 hours ago, Kitten said:

Hi ~ Thanks for having me ~ My Name is Kitten ~ Im a Luthier  from Oz (Australia)

i Build, Repair, Service & Restore Guitars, Banjos, Ukuleles (mainly) but all and any other stringed instrument included. I can’t play.. any of them... I haven’t found it necessary, that may sound crazy given my job but it hasn’t been a requirement höwever some find it insulting that I can’t.  (They like the way i fix them though.)

If your job is to fix em and you fix em good then no I don't think you have to play. The coach of team many times did not play the sport they coach.

Edited by Sgt. Pepper

I've had a couple of top notch fix it/setup guys and even know a luthier (eg: builder) who really can't play all that much or in one case at all.    They were good at what they did though.

But to play devils advocate, the ones that I know that do play, (and a few of them were very good players) had a bit of an advantage of getting it right a bit faster when you're getting down to some real specific things.  But,,, we're splitting hairs here.

I am a luthier too.  I do play but that could easily be questioned  🙂