Gibson Brands Forums

Restringing your guitar

Dub-T-123

Forgive me for posting such a beginner level topic but I was surprised how much I learned and benefitted from this video..

When I got my new LP I noticed the tech at Wildwood had tied the strings to the tuning pegs in knots. I’ve never tried this before but the tuning stability was excellent. 

I’ve been experimenting with different strings on the LP and figured I’d try a different method of installing the strings as well. 

Until now, I have been using what he calls the “fast wrapping method” in this video. That’s the way I learned from my dad and I thought aside from locking tuners that’s pretty much the only way to install strings. 

Now having seen this video, I’ve been using the “tech method” and I gotta recommend that you guys try it if you haven’t heard of this before. It takes a bit of practice getting the right length of string to start with but even the strings that I screwed up a bit on my first try stayed in tune beautifully.

With a good setup and this tuning method, my LP is always perfectly in tune when I pull it out of the case and bends etc never pull it out of tune

• Thanks 1

Well I think its a good idea to review how we do simple stuff like this. 

I once read that BB King (pretty sure it was him) wound the whole string around the post. I thought I'd try it out because that is supposed to be great for stability. When I later took the guitar to my luthier he bollocked me for doing this (It made extra work for him). I bet he wouldn't have said anything to King.

I dont do that anymore, but I did adopt an 'under lock' method I found in a vid. I try to avoid unnecessary winds now due to dodgey thumbs. String changes is the only thing I miss about the G-Force system. It was so quick and easy. It just unwound itself and did it self up again.